Dentistry Doctor of Dental Surgery

About us

The Ohio State University College of Dentistry, Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS) program is the fourth largest public dental school in the country. Our 440 dental students are educated alongside 64 dental hygiene students by 103 full-time faculty and 184 part-time faculty. Our exceptional classroom and laboratory instruction, along with a strong hands-on clinical training program, will prepare you for success in your dental career.

We are home to seven of the nine ADA recognized specialties providing our DDS students with insight and exposure to unique learning opportunities. Training in advanced clinical dentistry is offered in the following areas, which combine clinical experience with didactic courses in both the basic and clinical sciences:

  • Anesthesiology - 1 of only 7 programs in the United States
  • Endodontics
  • General Practice Residency
  • Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology - 1 of  only 12 programs in the United States 
  • Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery
  • Orthodontics
  • Pediatric Dentistry
  • Periodontics
  • Prosthodontics.

Additionally, the college offers a dual DDS/PhD degree program. The Oral Biology Doctoral Program is an interdisciplinary program consisting of twenty-nine faculty from three health sciences colleges; Dentistry, Medicine, and Veterinary Medicine, as well as the Comprehensive Cancer Center. The major focus of the program is laboratory-based education in conducting research. 

For more information, go to: